Part-Time Grumpy Old Woman, Full-Time Geek Girl

I'm in my mid-forties and live in Warwickshire, England. I've been housebound with M.E. for many years and also suffer from coeliac disease. I bake my own cakes and biscuits, make my own cards and create other digital images. I listen to a lot of podcasts, write a bit, swear at cryptic crosswords and solve Linux (or possibly vice versa). I'm a huge fan of Doctor Who, Spanish films and the Discworld novels. You'll find me on #FolkloreThursday posting folktales from the heart of England.

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis

I've been housebound with ME for over twenty years. ME is a prolonged debilatating disease, the notable symptoms being: profound fatigue; constant and severe muscle and joint pains; compromised cognitive ability; insomnia; weakened immunity.

Coeliac Disease

I'm also a coeliac and have a number of food intolerances and so I bake my own cakes and biscuits. Coeliac Disease is an autoimmune disorder that leaves me unable to eat anything with the slightest gluten content. I also have to avoid lactose and soya.

Hobbies & Interests

Cryptic Crosswords

I am more obsessed than effective when it comes to cryptic crosswords but I do enjoy them and find that it helps to keep the brain-fog at bay.

Solo Gaming

I'm an occasional solo gamer but a regular hacker of settings and game mechanics. I also enjoy developing game maps and other gaming aids.

Doctor Who

The BBC's classic SF series, now a venerable fifty years old and still going strong. There's no shortage of stories to enjoy and I particularly like the Big Finish audios.

Spanish Films

I love Spanish culture and cinema, am a fan of Medem, Almodovar and de la Iglesia in particular and will watch Elena Anaya in anything.


I've been a huge fan of the late Terry Pratchett's Discworld stories from the beginning and attended some of the official conventions before I became too ill.


I've always been fascinated by the Long Nineteenth and Britain's place in that period so Steampunk is a fun and fascinating way to reimagine the age.

Digital Art

I make greetings cards and design t-shirts, create digiscrap and other digital artwork.
I use the GIMP, Inkscape and Imagemagick for all of my digital artwork.

Tech Tinkering

I am an inveterate tinkerer when it comes to scripting, web pages and computers.
I've been playing with Raspberry Pis and now with the BBC Micro:Bit.

Linux & RPi

CLI & Coding

I use Bash and Perl for scripting and I'm using a lot more Python now, particularly with the RPis and Micro:Bits.

Linux & FLOSS

A full-time Linux user for well over ten years, I'm still learning new things all the time. I've largely settled on Ubuntu Mate as my go-to distro though I often try out others.

Raspberry Pis

With the RPi I've been running a server for file sharing, Git repos and calendars. As an old-school ZX Spectrum fan, my games console is a $5 Raspberry Pi Zero.